(844) 418-5557
man stands raising his arms to thank God for saving him from his drug addiction Multnomah County, Oregon

Drug Addiction Multnomah County, Oregon

Concerning rates of drug addiction Multnomah County, Oregon, is full of afflicted individuals currently seeking release. Alcoholics Anonymous and other 12-step programs frequently claim that recovery cannot occur without some sort of spiritual transformation. Many envision spiritual awakening as a sudden burst of light, but most people experience it much more gradually. In fact, it typically occurs in stages. Depending on the source, you may hear that there are anywhere from four to eight stages of spiritual growth in recovery.

No model is incorrect, but it may help to simplify matters by using a pre-existing model for the primary stages of change and simply adjusting it to accommodate the subject at hand. By this model, addicts and alcoholics will undergo five stages of spiritual growth in recovery. These stages are as follows.

Spiritual Growth Stage #1 – Precontemplation

Most people who think to read this will not be in the precontemplation stage. It is rare for someone to begin researching the stages of spiritual growth in recovery unless they have already begun to transform, as precontemplation essentially means that an individual has not yet even contemplated their need to change. Perhaps it crossed their mind at one point or another, but they decided that they were fine. Some may even actively rebel against the notion of spiritual growth. Generally, although not always, it will take an external source of motivation for a person to exit precontemplation and begin progressing through the stages of change.

Spiritual Growth Stage #2 – Contemplation

In the early stages of change, a person may still experience trepidation. During the contemplation stage, they may realize a potential need for spiritual transformation but continue to question whether it is truly a necessity. They will read about the stages of spiritual growth in recovery, yet they remain unconvinced that they must (or even can) accomplish the task set before them. Some remain in the contemplation stage forever. Others, however, will take a hard look at the consequences of their addiction and decide that the time has come for something new.

Spiritual Growth Stage #3 – Preparation/Determination

Preparation is among the most important stages of change. Unfortunately, not everyone completes this stage. A person may begin taking action to resolve their addiction issues yet realize in treatment that they are still in the midst of contemplation. They do not fully lend themselves to productive activities such as cognitive behavioral therapy because they never took the time to really commit themselves mentally and emotionally.

Concerning the stages of spiritual growth in recovery, preparation is among the trickiest due to the tendency of some to attempt skipping over it entirely in favor of immediate (and often reckless) action. Fortunately, when seeking treatment for drug addiction Multnomah County, Oregon, has some of the best facilities around. This will make research during the preparation stage much easier.

Spiritual Growth Stage #4 – Action/Willpower

Despite what many might believe based on the name, the action stage depends on more than the individual alone. According to the second appendix in Alcoholics Anonymous, spiritual experience requires willingness, honesty and an open mind. As addicts and alcoholics complete the stages of change, they realize they cannot achieve recovery without accepting help from others.

For some, entering addiction treatment is the beginning of this stage. Others may not begin to truly progress through the stages of spiritual growth in recovery until overcoming denial in therapy. Regardless of what initiates it, those who enter this stage will finally begin to see the transformative potential of sober living.

Spiritual Growth Stage #5 – Maintenance

After progressing through the stages of change, you should see your desired transformation begin to manifest; however, the process does not end there. While the model discussed here outlines five stages of spiritual growth in recovery, some include a sixth stage of change. The termination stage, known to addicts and alcoholics as relapse, occurs when the individual does not apply proper maintenance techniques. In other words, those who wish to maintain their new spiritual lifestyle must work a strong relapse prevention program. As long as they do this, they can continue living their new life without disruption.

Stages of Change in Addiction Treatment

It will be much easier for addicts and alcoholics to undergo the stages of spiritual growth in recovery while receiving proper care at a quality addiction treatment facility. At Aspire Health Network’s Oregon facility, for instance, clients are treated holistically. As they overcome physical and mental symptoms of addiction, they receive access to behavioral therapy and other tools that will help them to work on the spiritual side of their recovery. With an individualized treatment plan, they can work through the stages of change at their own pace and receive support from our staff as they develop and maintain the life they wish to attain in sobriety.

For more information on how our facilities can help you or your loved one to undergo a spiritual transformation in recovery, contact us today to learn more about our programs. We can help you find the best treatment for drug addiction Multnomah County, Oregon, has to offer.